Has Anyone Seen My Pants? by Sarah Colonna

I’m 85% sure that Sarah Colonna and I could be great friends. Fact.

This is the first book of Colonna’s that I’ve read and I didn’t expect to enjoy it as much as I did. My only exposure to the author prior to this book was her appearances on Chelsea Lately. She was always a favorite round table guest for me because she seemed incredibly real and normal. Her appearances were always witty yet grounded and she seemed just a little more removed from the big show business side of things (in that she wasn’t warped by it or obsessed over it). These things are proven true in her latest book Has Anyone Seen My Pants?, set to be released in March 2015.

Written in an easy and conversational tone, Has Anyone Seen My Pants? is a quick read filled with funny quips and stories from her time as a writer on Chelsea Lately, traveling as a stand-up comedienne, and vacations with and without friends. There are dating woes, the difficulty of finding a friend to vacation with when all your friends are in relationships or have kids (I’ve been there!), hatred of talking on the phone (me again), sharing a love of all things Luke Bryan with her mom (I’m raising my hand), to an unexpected relationship with a Seahawks player that sort of came out of nowhere in her life. I’m the last person to identify as a romantic but the end is sweet and cute and adorable and all those other lovey buzz words that get thrown around. It’s sweet without the cheese factor.

Pants could’ve done with a bit more of a fleshed out introduction. As it sits in the advanced reader copy I received for review, it feels like we jump into the middle of a conversation already happening but we’re able to catch up quickly. Colonna comes off as incredibly friendly and personable. I read a lot of memoir or essay collections that feel disjointed and distance because I can’t identify with the world the author lives in. This isn’t an issue with Pants. It’s seems accessible because Colonna seems accessible, down to earth and incredibly real. Better than expected.

Thanks to Netgalley, Gallery Books, and Simon & Schuster for the advanced copy. Get yours in March 2015!

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

