Book Review: What I Was Doing While You Were Breeding: A Memoir by Kristin Newman

What I Was Doing While You Were Breeding: A Memoir
by Kristin Newman

3/5

I’m a sucker for a witty title.

I wanted this book to be more than what it was. Instead of a book of female empowerment or taking your own path, it was a long list of exotic locales and sex partners spread out across the globe. No “slut shaming” here but listing off the number of dudes you bedded in different countries just doesn’t do anything for me. The book is well-written and has its moments of humor, don’t get me wrong. I guess I was looking for more self-reflection, maybe?

There are great takeaways to be had – living in the moment and not being afraid of that, doing the thing you’re supposed to do in the place you’re supposed to do it – but it’s hard to feel a connection to the author when she doesn’t acknowledge the crazy amount of privilege in her life. Most readers are not going to be able to connect with someone who jets off to the other side of the world at a moment’s notice or spends each New Year’s Eve in a different country with other overly rich, privileged, pretty people. That old saying about how the other half lives ran circles in my head the entire time I read this.

I liked the book but I just wanted something more. More. There was a lot of “this is just what happens in ” when the truth is more “this is just what happens when you have lots of money and friends with lots of money.” Not saying Newman hasn’t earned her ducats but most people aren’t in her situation and it makes it that much harder to identify with her.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

