Fictional Characters Know What’s Up

As I wrote last week , I decided to give Camp NaNoWriMo a try this month. I’ve never done a NaNo event and have really gotten out of the old writing routine so I felt this was a good way to jump back in and force myself to do better. Under no illusions that I (or anyone, really) can write a novel in a month or a decent novel at 50,000 words in thirty days, I set my modest word goal for 35,000 words for the month of the April. The thing we have to remember about Nano, as with any first draft, is that it’s not going to be good. It’s going to be crap. That’s the game.

Michelle Tanner knows what’s up:

I’m not one of those people that can turn off my “inner editor” while writing. I can’t think “oh that’s crappy but I’ll go back and fix it later.” I have no choice but to pause and rethink it, knowing that the better way to phrase it is right there on the tips of my fingers waiting to come out. I just need to give it a moment to formulate itself correctly. Speeding my way through would be great if I was able to do that. I’m not. I’ve tried. So I pause, hesitate, re-read and fix. Everything you’re not “supposed” to do during a NaNo event.

Winston Bishop knows what’s up:

I reached the 20,000 mark today. Honestly, I was a little surprised. I set my 35k goal and kind of thought that I wouldn’t be stunned or bothered if I didn’t hit it. I didn’t set out to write an entire first draft so I didn’t think I’d be that bothered if I didn’t hit it. I may still be cool with that if I don’t. My goal has only been to get back in the swing of things and prove to myself that I could do it if I wanted. I may not complete the whole deal but I’m in a decent spot and on pace to do so. So I guess we’ll see how it goes.

Nick Miller may or may not know what’s up:

I’ve written at least a little bit every day and, for me, that’s the bigger victory. Days 8 & 9 were a struggle. I was lucky to string together a handful of sentences and I turned into Nick Miller for that time because, once again, he knew what was up:

I made a no good, very bad mistake on day seven that led to this complete and total silence from my characters – I reread. I cringe just typing it. I wasn’t feeling anything flow so I thought “hey I know! I’ll go back and read the last two chapters and that’ll get the ol’ creativity ball rolling!”

Jeff Winger knows what’s up:

I should know better. This is my first NaNo but I’ve writing in some form as long as I can remember. So much cringing. I KNEW BETTER. There was that voice in the back of my head telling me it was a bad idea and trying to stop me. It tried so hard.

Richard Castle knows what’s up:

(Disclaimer: Nathan Fillion ALWAYS knows what’s up.)

But I didn’t listen. So I pouted and tweeted and watched too much tv until I decided that wasting two days was enough and it was time to get back in the saddle. I was stuck at a certain part that I didn’t know how to move past so I drew a big box and labeled it ‘you hate this part now but it will be easier later’ and moved on to something I wanted to write. I’ve cranked out about 7k in the last two days. I won’t reread it (learning from my mistakes like adults are supposed to do!) and I’m sure I’ll hate it when I visit it again but that’s what first drafts are for.

Besides, Mindy Kaling knows what’s up:

So I’ll end April with a hot mess of typos, poorly constructed subplots, and more bad than good. But hey, I made it through and actually wrote something and that’s the important part, right?

Stephen Colbert knows what’s up:

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

