Book Review: The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling

The Casual Vacancy

13497818
A book club read – short and sweet review.I don’t remember if it was an Amazon or Goodreads review that said this book was like the movie It’s A Wonderful Life if Jimmy Stewart had actually died in the beginning instead of going the ‘what if I never existed’ route. I think that’s a pretty accurate description. One man’s death set off a series of events and decisions that changed the lives of all the characters that live in these pages.

At the end of the day, it was just ok. All right. Nothing spectacular. I haven’t read any of the Harry Potter books, so I can’t compare or contrast the writing styles and storylines, though I’m sure you can find approximately 5000 people doing that on Goodreads alone.

It earns about 3.5/5 stars from me. It’s nothing to write home about and better books are definitely available that deal with similar subject matter.

Tagged , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling

  1. HOLLY says:

    I’ve wanted to read this (I’m a big fan of the Harry Potter series) however I’m nervous that it won’t meet my expectation’s of J.K. Rowling’s writing. Do you think it’s worth reading?

    • angiedet says:

      I haven’t read the HP series (I know, I know :)), So I can’t compare and contrast. This book was a little long for my taste but wasn’t necessarily bad. I would recommend reading it if only to see if her writing outside of the HP world is for you.

Leave a Reply

