Book Review: I Was Told There’d Be Cake by Sloane Crosley

I Was Told There’d Be Cake

Maybe my expectations were too high. Great reviews, a comparison to Vowell right on the cover …what’s not to like?

Turns out, the author. Ok that’s probably a little harsh and while I’m sure she’s actually perfectly nice girl, the way she’s presented in the book was just this side of annoying. There was no connection for me, I didn’t pull for her to succeed or have sympathy for the situations she found herself in. Who actually agrees to be in the wedding of someone you haven’t so much as spoken to in over a decade? It all felt like quite the stretch. I’m sure things were embellished for the sake of humor. Those embellishments read as more over the top than funny.

It had its moments of humor and wasn’t a bad read by any means, but all the praise and positive critique? I don’t get it. There are a thousand books about there with the description of “20-something Jewish girl moves to New York to try to make it in the big, bad city and the big, bad publishing world.” The reviews gave me hope that maybe this was the book that would finally be a cut above the rest, the one that the other books tried so hard to be. It wasn’t.

When it feels like an author is trying to be funny, I’m instantly turned off. The funniest people you will meet in life are the ones that do not have to try. Sloane feels like she’s constantly trying to be humorous and it’s off-putting to me.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

