Bad Boys, or How Jordan Catalano Ruined Your Life (and other TV boyfriends)

I’m pretty sure Jordan Catalano ruined an entire generation of girls.

If you were a teenage girl in the 90s and saw even one episode of My So-Called Life, there’s a pretty good chance that Jordan Catalano ruined you forever and you don’t even know it.

Image

Bad boys, we love them, don’t we? The right kind of wrong.

He loves three things in life: his motorcycle, his guitar and you. Or that’s the lie we tell ourselves because we know we shouldn’t really be dating this guy.

  • He loves his bike and guitar and me. That’s all he cares about in life and I get to be part of that.
  • My friends just don’t know him like I do.
  • My parents don’t see how sweet he is when we’re alone!
  • I know that we’re really connected because he invited to his next gig and all his friends will be there!
  • He cares so much that he made me wear his leather jacket when he drove me home on his bike so I would be safer if he dumped the bike. He’s so sweeeeet!

If you’ve ever said or thought at least three out of the five items above, you’ve been suckered by a bad boy.  Acknowledge it. Own it. Accept it.

It’s not your fault. It’s not. Women are not built with the capacity to deny ourselves at least one go ’round with the quintessential bad boy. The rebel. The guy living slightly on the outside of normal. The boy that just doesn’t care. He doesn’t care about anything and that makes you care about him and YOU CAN’T TELL ME WHAT TO DO ANYMORE, DAD!

Women make the mistake of the bad boy. We have to. We have to go through that phase. It’s necessary to get through to understand why some relationships work or don’t work and to learn that, no matter how hard you try, you will not change him. Will not.

Maybe it’s unfair to lay the blame solely on Mr. Catalano. He certainly left a fair share of us yearning for the boy in the flannel with the doey eyes that will learn how to read if we just love him enough! But there are other life ruiners that have graced our TV screens and our hearts that encourage us each to believe that they only need the right person to love them and that right person is you!

The bad boys are usually the broken boys. It’s a fact.  Either their parents messed them up or….no, that’s about it. It’s usually the parents fault.   Some of my recent/current favorites:

Tim Riggins, Friday Night Lights (and that panty dropping smirk):Image

Jax Teller, Sons of Anarchy:

Image

Damian Salvatore, The Vampire Diaries:

Image

Derek Hale, Teen Wolf:

Image

These are just a few of the men folk that leave me weak in the knees and convincing myself that if fictional boys can change, so can real life boys!   One day I’ll grow up.  One notable love of my life missing from the list is Dean Winchester of Supernatural.  I don’t feel he’s a bad boy, just broken.  But still so damn pretty:

Image

Who did I leave off? Who are your fave broken baddies that just need a good hug?

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Bad Boys, or How Jordan Catalano Ruined Your Life (and other TV boyfriends)

  1. I was lured here with the promise of Jordan Catalano but now I might need to watch Sons of Anarchy.

Leave a Reply

